The above is a clickable image map.
Enlarge Image

1. General Competencies
2. Museology Competencies
3. Management Competencies
4. Public Programming Competencies
5. Information & Collections Management and Care Competencies

ICOM Curricula Guidelines for Museum Professional Development
Career Tree - Curricula Guidelines - About the Guidelines - Development Process - Resources

The ICOM Curricula Guidelines for Museum Professional Development defines five broad areas of competencies—general descriptions of knowledge, skills and abilities (KSA's)—needed to work effectively in today's museums. The "tree" model depicted here illustrates the shared and functional competencies required by members of the museum field to understand and perform their jobs. Shared competencies, shown as roots and trunk, are those considered important for all workers to possess. Functional competencies, illustrated by interrelated branches and leaves, are those needed to perform specific activities.

Complementing the document is the Selected Resources for Developing Museology Curricula, a list of important references and bibliographic citations about museology training needs, content development, and instructional strategies.

The purpose of the ICOM Curricula Guidelines is twofold: to serve as a framework for developing sound, comprehensive training syllabi, and to provide a tool for managing institutional development and/or shaping individual career paths. The document can be used to respond to numerous institutional and sector-wide needs, including curriculum development, human resource planning, employee recruitment, staff retention and supervision, career counseling, funding and policy assessments, and for individuals making career decisions.


Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies

          Maintained by the Smithsonian Center for 
          Education and Museum Studies

28 August 2009